Island Championships 2020 - Day 4

Post date: Nov 17, 2020 10:23:30 PM

The final day of the rearranged 2019/20 Island Championships ended with the Men's and Women's Doubles where familiar faces emerged as victors from the respective packs.

Men's Doubles: Joshua Stacey & Lawrence Stacey bt Ben Foss & Ryan Bichard Full results

Women's Doubles: Dawn Morgan & Kay Chivers bt Paula Le Ber & Shelby Timms Full results

Men's Doubles

Top seeds Joshua and Lawrence Stacey retained the title that they clinched for the first time last season after coming through a hard fought 5 set encounter against 2nd seeds Ben Foss and Ryan Bichard. There were a number of high quality rallies in the match and despite Foss and Bichard edging the 4th end 16-14, the Stacey twins held their nerve to take the 5th end and title 11-9.

Josh and Lawrence had earlier dispatched 3rd seeds Phil Ogier and Jez Powell in straight sets, whilst their closest match of the tournament came in the opening round where they needed 6 sets to get past Andy Gill and Jamie Ferbrache.

Foss and Bichard had not dropped a set until the semi finals, but overcame 4th seeds Paul Hainsworth and Liam Robilliard at this stage over 5 sets . The 3rd end proved pivotal in the affair as the 2nd seeds edged it 16-14 whilst the match was delicately poised at 1-1.

Women's Doubles

Dawn Morgan and Kay Chivers won their 6th consecutive and 9th overall Women's Doubles crown after defeating the second seeded pairing of Paula Le Ber and Shelby Timms in the final. The outcome was 5 sets in favour of the experienced duo, however that does not tell the full story of what was a hard fought game, where the underdogs played some excellent table tennis. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th ends were all settled past the regulation 11 points, however it was the champions who had the better run in these games, taking 2 of them 12-10 and 14-12 and losing just the second end 14-12.

In the semi finals, Morgan and Chivers defeated Charlotte Casey and Erin Vaudin in straight sets, whilst Le Ber and Timms defeated Juliette Yeaman and Amy Wesley in 6 sets.

Thanks to sponsors La Fraternelle for their continued support of the Island Championships and to all the spectators who came down to support the players over the weekend. Special thanks to Lionel Jones, Ian Fitchet, Andy Gill, Becks O'Keefe and Ben Foote for running the various events across the 4 days of action as well as the International Umpires who volunteered to officiate: Derek Carter, Peter Dean, Steve Martin and Tina Pipet.