Deutsche Bank Junior Banded Tournament

Post date: Feb 04, 2019 5:45:49 PM

Results | Photos

The 3rd Deutsche Bank Junior Banded Tournament of the season took place on Saturday and there appeared to be a changing of the guard at the top end of the tournaments with a number of younger players contesting for the top honours. Band 1 was incredibly close with four players having similar records. Caden Brouard battled through to win his maiden top band title, with the loss to his older brother Corey being his sole defeat. Despite beating the eventual winner, Corey finished the tournament in fourth place as Ben Sharp and Callum Gilson played their way into second and third respectively.

Band 2 was also hotly contested, with Erin Vaudin eventually coming out on top. It was a close affair and Erin didn’t have it all her own way with most of her matches going the three set distance as well as a 2-1 loss to Shelby Timms. Max Burrows took second place, with his only defeat coming at the hands of the impressive Vaudin.

Alderney’s Megan Simonet put together an almost perfect performance on her way to taking the Band 3 title, dropping a single set against Courtney Benfield. It was a rather close affair between second and fourth, with Daniel Lasenby edging out the Ridunian pair of Alex Jakubowski and Benfield to take second place.

Band 4 was fairly even though Evan Lesbirel put together an assured performance to finish the day unbeaten. Grace Milan demonstrated the great progress she has made this year as she defeated Island under-11 runner-up Jamie Regan 3-2 to claim the second spot, thus relegating Regan to third.

Band 5 was an open contest with all players picking up at least one win. Tom Syer put in a great string of performances to claim the title with Daisy Burrows ultimately finishing in second. Both players showcased how much they have developed over the course of the year with some fearless attacking shots.

The top end of Band 6 was also incredibly close but was eventually won by Alex Hutchinson, whose only defeat was at the hands of Noah Bartlett. Bartlett also put in a solid performance and took second spot, with Alex Lowe finishing in third. Caitlin Jouhning was awarded the player of the day award.

Congratulations to the prize winners:

Band 1 winner: Caden Brouard

Runner-up: Ben Sharp

Band 2 winner: Erin Vaudin

Runner-up: Max Burrows

Band 3 winner: Megan Simonet

Runner-up: Daniel Lasenby

Band 4 winner: Evan Lesbirel

Runner-up: Grace Milan

Band 5 winner: Tom Syer

Runner-up: Daisy Burrows

Band 6 winner: Alex Hutchinson

Runner-up: Noah Bartlett

Player of the Day: Caitlin Jouhning